How did you like that disappearing act?

What day is it? My, oh my, it’s been over a week since my last post. What could she be doing with all that time? Well… I spent Friday of last week to Wednesday of this week caring for my in-laws home and pets while they were away. They live in the town were James and I used to live when I first came to Canada. It was a lot of fun to see and catch up with some old pals. I even got to meet some new friends and scored some new to me duds at a little blogger meet up and clothing swap. Such lovely, down to earth ladies. So glad I had the opportunity to meet them all.

I’ve spent the rest of the week catching up on neglected chores, classes, work, blog, family, and simply recovering from being in someone else’s place, space, fridge, bed, and hair (dog hair to be exact) than my own.

On Friday James had the day off. We were confused or convenced it was Saturday I guess, because we got all geared up to go to the market after lunch only to realize it was Friday and there was no market.

Instead, we decided it was a good day for a picnic. After a little window shopping, we grabbed a freshly baked baguette, some lovely and creamy raw milk cheese, and sun-dried tomato tapenade and headed down to the park in fron of city hall to enjoy our noms.

It’s always lovely to just stop and enjoy the simple things in life is it not? We lounged on the limestone wall and munched on our little feast while enjoying the scenery like tourists. A little sparrow came by to have a go at the crumbs we were leaving behind and a talkative sea gull scuttled around waiting around for his turn.

It was a fun and sweet, lazy afternoon. What do you think about the photos our new camera takes? Clear as a bell and aren’t they lovely? Next week I want to start taking photos in raw format so I can get even more detail as some of the whites were blown out in these. I did play around with the photos a little bit in Camera Raw, which I am having tons of fun learning about in one of my Lynda.com courses I am taking. That website is a life saver I tell you what. The only bad thing about it is there are so many things I want to learn!

Today I am working on some  research for my new job, as well as writing some fun bloggy stuff for the coming weeks, and supposed to be photographing a few new shop items.

I am mustering up the courage to get out in the back garden and take photos of myself. I hate to say it, but I am a little out of the practice at being subject matter, even if I’m just the mannequin it can be a little daunting standing there posing. More than half my photos come out awkward and out of 50 shots maybe 4 are keepers.

This is a challenge I really want to succeed at. My confidence has taken a toll these past few years as my weight and fitness has fluctuated and I’m tired of being so self conscious in front of a camera.

I am putting my foot down. One of my goals for May is to create and photograph a new shop item everyday. By the end of the month I should have an entirely new line of products as well as a bit more comfort in front of a camera again.

Have a lovely Saturday,

Hillery

One response to “How did you like that disappearing act?

  1. Fabulous looking picnic Hillery – best of luck with your challenge for the month…it’s good to set those goals!

Leave a Reply

